Health & Exercise

running & STILL getting fat...grr!!!

ok-so here's my vent!  I have been running for the last 5 years (7+ miles 6 days a week) Got down to a weight (& body) that I was happy with.

Then I moved to a state that I'm not a fan of and with the a hip injury,heat,humidy & lack of hills-I gained 10 pounds! So,then I got pregnant (super happy about!) and really lost a lot of mileage.First i had bleeding and was told not to jog (so I walked) and I was beyond tried! When I got the o.k to get back out there,I did but 3-4 miles 5 days a week is what my body is able to handle (lower back pain & the feeling my insides might fall out has stopped me). AND my weight keeps going up!!!

So far 149 pounds as of last Friday!! That's my total body weight before anyone has a heart attack! I'm 5'4 and started at 127lbs!! I think that's a lot and I'm working out-added yoga and more weight traininng with jogging!

So,you ask what am I eating...I will stay I can do a bit better but I am not that bad! I do crave a sugerly treat here and there...

Is any other runners feeling this way? Go from running less than 8 min. miles to 12??!!  I thought I would be a strong pregnant lady...guess not!

I'M TRYING!!! I have 9 weeks to go (baby is a week ahead in growth-so maybe less) I feel i'm a second away from becoming a whale....

ok...breathing now! Thanks and sorry for the long vent!!

Re: running & STILL getting fat...grr!!!

• First, yes, take a DEEP breath!  You're not a whale.  You're a pregnant lady. :o)

My doctor told me that just being pregnant is a 9 month workout.  Anything you do beyond that is a double workout.  I'd highly recommend putting away the watch though.  Even running 12 minute miles is awesome, but I understand it's not a number you're used to seeing.  I put my Garmin on the shelf the day I found out I was pregnant.  I didn't want the numbers to dampen my sense of accomplishment from just getting out there.