Babies: 3 - 6 Months

food for thought...

I've read/heard a lot of people lately say that everyone should be able to experience being a SAHM and you should at least try it out.  I'm wondering if these people have considered that some moms may WANT to work and that being a SAHM isn't for everyone?

My questions to working moms...do you work FT or PT?  What are your reasons for working?

I work M-F 7-3:30.  My reasons:

1.  I am passionate about my career.  I earned a Master's degree for a reason and plan to use it.  If I wanted to be a SAHM, I wouldn't have wasted my time in graduate school.

2.  I enjoy having a professional identity outside of "Mom"

3.  DH and I enjoy living comfortable.  With 2 new cars and a mortgage, we have always planned to be a 2-income household.

4.  I refuse to use government assistance as long as I have a choice about it! (note...I know that unfortunate circumstances can always lead to anyone needing them!)

Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml

Re: food for thought...

• really? we talk a lot on here about people who want to work. I'm one of them, but it doesn't make sense for us right now.
  • I work FT, M-F 7-4. I work because I want to. 
    Lilypie Second Birthday tickers image
  • Loading the player...
  • imageNELCORP:
    I work FT, M-F 7-4. I work because I want to. 

Exactly. I don't understand why we always have to have a reason to want to work. I just want to. I feel like when these conversations come up, the reasons sound like we are making excuses.

I want to work. period.  

ETA: OP - I know you are just making conversation and aren't saying we need excuses. I am just commenting on the overall need to have a reason. 

• I work M-F 7:30-4:00, I am a teacher. I absolutely love my job. As you said, we have car and house payments and like living comfortably. I like having a job other than just  mom as well Smile
  • I work 9-5 Monday-Friday. I work for the extra income and because i want to.