Miscarriage/Pregnancy Loss

new here

My DH and I went in for our first u/s appointment (8w4d) yesterday and did not find a heartbeat.  The doctor thinks it's heart stopped beating around 6 weeks since it measured that size.

We are completely devastated, but know that God has a plan for us.  In that hope, we carry on.  :)

The doctor gave us the weekend to decide on our next steps:  D&C, medicine or natural.  I am a teacher and school starts in about a week and have already decided that going natural would not be the best at this time.  If you've had a D&C or taken the medicine, do you have any advice for me?

Thank you.  I hope this board can bring some support as this is my first m/c.

Married my best friend ~ May 31, 2008
Adopted our furbaby Kona ~ January 17, 2010
Trying to grow our family ~ June 2010

1st BFP 7.6.10 ~ EDD 3.15.11 ~ mmc 8.6.10 ~ d&c 8.11.10
2nd BFP 11.4.10 ~ EDD 7.15.11 ~ HB 6w3d ~ No HB 7w ~ mmc 12.8.10 ~ d&c 12.9.10
3rd BFP 7.12.11 ~ EDD 3.22.12 ~ HB 6w5d 124 bpm ~ Team Green ~ 
SHE STUCK!
4th BFP 6.20.13 ~ EDD 3.1.14 ~ HB 7w5d 153 bpm ~ A/S revealed due date possibly 2.23
*~*~*~*EXPECT MIRACLES*~*~*~*
Praying for peace in God's ultimate plan ~ "Be still and know that I am God." -Psalm 46:10

Lilypie Second Birthday tickers
Lilypie Pregnancy tickers

Re: new here

• First, please know I'm so sorry for your loss.  It's really difficult, but it does get easier, with time.

I ended up having a D&C and I was nervous about it- but it really turned out to be the best thing (for me at least).  The whole process is intimidating, b/c its new, and you really don't want to be going through it at all.  But in the end, the procedure itself only takes 15 minutes, and I woke up in recovery and felt totally fine.  Everyone is different, but it gave me some closure and allowed me to begin to heal...  Best of luck to you, whatever you decide to do.

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • I am so sorry for loss.
  • Loading the player...