New to The Bump

Teachers

Are there any teachers out there? When do you think is the best time to try? If you have already have a lo, what did you do to plan for maternity leave? Any teachers that teach classes that are heavily lab based?
BabyFruit Ticker Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: Teachers

• You'll probably get some great answers here but if not, try the working moms board.
  • Loading the player...
  • I would say summer! You have plenty of time & then you will be pg during the cooler months of the year. That's just my opinion though.
  • I am a teacher and my DS was born in December, and I am now due in December. I thought it was nice because I left after introducing the grading period and came back after it was complete. I wanted to have a baby in April or May so I would have the summer but it didn't work out that way:)
  • I had DD in early Nov.  I had time to teach my kids procedures and some core standards.  I was out until Feb. 24th.  I came back at the perfect time in the year, IMO.

For the next baby, I'm thinking about trying to be due in Feb or March.  That way I'd have a lengthy maternity leave AND all summer.

• DD was born at the beginning of September, so I was only with my students for 1 week.  I was on leave until the beginning of 2nd semester at the end of January.

DS was born at the end of February.  I am on leave now through the end of the school year and will also have summer.

I liked being off during the holidays with DD but only being with my students for 1 week at the beginning of the year was tough.  If I had to do it again I'd shoot for a due date of February or after (like with DS) because then you are out the rest of the year and the summer!

Good luck!