D.C. Area Babies

random - anyone planting a veg garden this year?

This is my first year living in a house where I have land and I just had the garden patch tilled yesterday.  I'm so excited to start planting!!  But of course I have no idea what I'm doing and I'll probably kill everything I put in the ground.  :)

What are you guys planting and when are you starting?  I have been reading around online and I think I'm going with the idea of planting around Mother's Day in May.  I'm thinking of planting tomatoes, cucumbers, peppers, greens, radishes but I want to plant some other stuff.  Any suggestions of what grows well around here?

Re: random - anyone planting a veg garden this year?

• You might get a better response on the main DC board - more people check over there.  I just have done containers of herbs so I am no real help.  The only thing I know is not to plant mint in a garden since it is a weed and will take over :-)
  • good idea!  Thanks!
  • Loading the player...
  • I've had a garden for the past 4 years and haven't had much luck since the first year. The past few summers haven't been good for my tomatoes (we haven't had the super hot days with evening T storms that really help tomotoes grow). I've switched to "square foot gardening" https://www.squarefootgardening.com/ to help keep some order and make it easier to keep my soil amended.

With the baby and working full time I plan to keep the garden to a happy minimum, so that it doesn't become too much work to weed, etc. I'll be starting the cool weather crops--lettuces, spinach, and snap peas soon. I'll likely do a cherry tomato plant, a bunch of herbs, and flowers to keep it simple in the summer and then the cool weather items again nearing fall.