Baby Showers

Diaper Cakes? Explain

Hi Ladies.  I'm pretty new to diaper cakes and just starting seing them so excuse my ignorance... Can someone help me understand the point of them?  Decorations? Pretty way to gift diapers?  One of my hostesses wants to do one for me, but honestly I'm not all that excited by it.  I think she was offended....

Re: Diaper Cakes? Explain

• partly just a pretty decoration, but also a fancy way to gift diapers... Plus they sometimes put other things on them (bottles, rattles, etc etc) so there is usually some other useful items on them. There will be one at my shower that my SIL and sister made... I can't wait to see what they did.
    Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • The way I make them is I use size one or two diapers, baby wash, aquaphor, a stuffed animal, bibs, blankets, and small items from their registry. I also use a dry erase board as a base (and cover it with a receiving blanket).   It is a nice way to incorporate items they will use into their shower decorations.  They can get pretty pricey, for sometimes I go overboard on them.
    Lilypie Fourth Birthday tickers, Lilypie First Birthday tickers
  • Loading the player...
  • LMarkLMark member

I think it's a very creative way of giving diapers and other little things.  My friend made us a 2 layer diaper cake using a paper towel tube as the inside base.  She then rolled the diapers and dressed up each round with ribbon and added towels, teether, plastic rings, wrist rattles.  It was VERY cute.

Yes, it might be a hassle to unwrap the diapers, but if someone wants to be creative with your gift, I say let them!Wink

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • I made one for a friend of mine.