2nd Trimester

Ibuprofen safe during pregnancy - sometimes??

Disclaimer: I AM NOT A DOCTOR, Talk to your OB before taking anything.

My co-worker is due two weeks after me and we are both pre-pregnancy migraine sufferes. During our pregnancies we have both been suffering from severe headaches and migraines - mostly weather related (since we seemed to have skipped over the spring and summer seasons over here in Canada and landed back in fall).

Anway - her sister is a pharmacist and b/c Tylenol isn't doing a damn thing for either of us (as is the case with a lot of you ladies as well) she started doing some research about Ibuprofen (advil/motrin). Turns out the medical surveys say that it is only relatively unsafe to take Ibuprofen in your first trimester and last 2 weeks of pregnancy.

I am currently skulking around the internet to find more info before I pop an Advil to get rid of the monster in my head - but I thought I would share this info in the meantime as I originally thought it was completely off-limits. For those of you really suffering it's at least worth talking to the OB about at the next appt.

"Great hearts steadily send forth the secret forces that incessantly draw great events." ~Ralph Waldo Emerson~ Daisypath Anniversary Years Ticker Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker Pregnancy Ticker

Re: Ibuprofen safe during pregnancy - sometimes??

• mooetamooeta member
    Maybe you should take your own advice and talk to you DOCTOR and not just scouring the internet before medicating.  Just a thought.
    Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • imageKimberlyJean:

I am currently skulking around the internet to find more info before I pop an Advil to get rid of the monster in my head - but I thought I would share this info in the meantime as I originally thought it was completely off-limits. For those of you really suffering it's at least worth talking to the OB about at the next appt.