Eco-Friendly Family

Question for Natural birth mamas

I'm a natural birth mama (delivered at home) and I am also an OB nurse in a hospital.  One of my fellow doctor friends is having a baby next month and has asked me to be her unofficial doula!  I am so excited!  I want to bring a bag of tools with me.  Now when I was in labor, a rice sock heated over and over again and placed on my lower back was invaluable.  The hot shower was a must!  But my question for you ladies is...what worked best for you when you were in labor.  Any suggestions of what I should bring with me to help her have as natural a childbirth as she can have????

Thanks! 

Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml

Re: Question for Natural birth mamas

• No advice yet, but I have a question for you.  I am assuming you have a lot of the same beliefs as I might in this situation - how do you deal w/ being an OB nurse, knowing all that you know and stuff? I ask b/c my cousin was a L&D nurse and had to quit because she just couldn't handle the stuff that went on and the stuff that was pushed on women who didn't know any better.  She actually has since become a doula. What is your take on all that?