Blended Families

appointing a guardian/will question

I have sole legal and physical custody of my 3 year old son.  I wanted to see if anyone here has any knowledge on what I can do (if anything) to appoint a guardian for him, other than his BD, if something were to happen to me?  I would like to appoint my sister, but I don't know if there is anything I can do legally to make it so that she would get custody of DS rather than his father?  Do parental rights trump any legal document I may have written up?  Even if I have sole legal custody?

Re: appointing a guardian/will question

• I am not a lawyer.  And none of the women on this board are lawyers.  You will need to talk to a lawyer to know what the laws/precedents of your state are. 

with that caveat - I would say that unless the BD's rights have been legally striped or reminded then you are SOL. 

• We just talked to a lawyer about this when we did our wills.  We were told that appointing me as SS's guardian via the will gives me a leg to stand on in court and I would have a chance at a fight with BM's history with CPS, drug use, alcohol use, and domestic violence on top of the fact she sees SS once a year if we force it (we actually sat outside of her work, waiting for her to get off JUST so she'd see him) and calls every 2 months MAYBE (which she usually just talks to DH about her life).  We are documenting all of it so if something happens to DH, I have it.  I am also aware that I would need a top-notch attorney to fight for him and could STILL lose if the judge feels being with his BM (who is a POS) is better than being with me (who has been in his life for 5+ years, he calls me 'mom', and I'm well equipped to raise a child with autism whereas she really is not).

"To be able to practice five things everywhere under heaven constitutes perfect virtue...gravity, generosity of soul, sincerity, earnestness, and kindness."
  • I agree you need to talk to a lawyer.