June 2013 Moms

Baby with Fever ::Updated::

So of course, here we are, midnight and baby girl is running a 100.3 temp rectal and temporal. I'm trying not to freak out, I'm a nurse and I know 100.3 isn't awful, but it's on the high side. When I had pedi pts we didn't give anything for 100.4 and under. But when it's my own baby, I'm not feeling as relaxed as I do with my pts.nbsp;She's eating fine, plenty of wet diapers. No snot or congestion. She's been really fussy the last few days, almost what I would expect a colicky baby to be like. She has been straining all day to poop, even after a pretty big BM earlier in the day. Passing gas all day, but still acts uncomfortable. Anyways, I guess I just need some reassurance that she's ok for now. I know to watch her, keep her cool I guess won't be able to swaddle tonight, make sure she's eating, count wet diapers. Any other suggestions or recommendations?Has anyone else dealt with a newborn with a fever? Of course, it's also the weekend, so pediatrician is closed. Acute Kids doesn't open until noon tomorrow, so I hope this fever stays low until then. Any advice, suggestions, calming reassurance would be greatly appreciated!!nbsp;ETA: For those on mobile, LO will be 7 weeks on Monday. nbsp;

:::Update::: Urine tests show a UTI. Explains the way it looks like it hurts to go potty :although I though poop, but maybe it hurt to pee: and also the smelly urine that my hubby said he noticed. Prelim spinal results show negative for meningitis, thank goodness. We have been admitted to the hospital for probably a couple of days. IV antibiotics have been started. I can already tell she's feeling better. She's been awake and not fussy for almost 2 hrs, which is the longest stretch of the last two days. Hoping to never do this again!! Hubby and I have both been up for 24 hrs, so we're exhausted!!

Thanks everyone for your thoughts and prayers!! I love having a place to come get support from, it really means a lot!! ::mobile smiley::