February 2013 Moms

Letting kids grow up vent

My parents' best friends are like an aunt an uncle to me. Because of this our families are very close, including their children and their families. One of their sons (the one closest to my age) is awesome but married to a girl I really can't stand. The majority of our group are around the same age (late 20s, early 30s) but she's a bit younger (she just turned 24). I have no problem with her age since her SIL (the youngest in her husband's family) is her age and one of my best friends. The problem I have is that since she has two kids she feels she knows everything and other parents do not. While I am still learning as a mother, I have done my fair share of research and will ask opinions from parents whose opinions I trust. For example, on the 4th of July she told me I needed to start DS on solids since he was already behind the curve with his milestones (since he doesn't sit up on his own yet at barely 5 months), she told my SIL (the oldest in our group with the oldest kids) that she should try to get her kids to stop whining so much by doing XYZ. She's mentioned that I am an old mom since I had DS at 29 and also that I'll be depriving DS since DH and I are in school FT and I work outside of the home. I guess the thing that frustrates me the most recently is that she expects her kids to grow up faster than (from what I've witnessed) they are ready. She had DD in Feb 2011 and DS Nov 2012. She was upset that DD "did not get" potty training before DS arrived and continues to berate her in public whenever she needs to change her diaper. DS has recently started crawling and she's already encouraging him to start walking since he "took so long" to start crawling. Honestly, why can't she just let her kids go at their own pace?! Sorry, I know it's not my place and everyone does what they feel is best for their kids, but she's so obsessed with having as many babies as possible (another reason she wants her DS to start walking: s