June 2012 Moms

Talking?

After seeing the post about walking, I wondered how other LOs are doing with talking.

DD will say "dada" but doesn't know that it means DH. The only word she seems to really know is "uh oh". She says it after she drops something off the high chair. Now that she's at 13 months I'm starting to get a little concerned that she isn't saying more. I've seen some posts around here that make it sound like DD might be a bit behind.

DD1: 05.16.12  DD2: 02.13.14  TTC #3

Re: Talking?

• APriceAPrice
    Seventh Anniversary 100 Comments 5 Love Its

I have been seriously stressing over DS's speech lately! Before I became a stay at home mom, I was a special education teacher so I am trying to constantly having to try and put the "teacher" in me on the back burner. Our DS doesn't say much either, he is really more of an observer and is quiet a lot of the time except when we are at home. He says "mama" and "dada" and other consonant sounds but that is really it. I'm also not entirely sure that when he says "mama" and "dada" he is using them with meaning and not just babbling. I totally understand that you feel she may be a bit behind, but don't stress about it! If you are really concerned, talk to your pedi about and see what they recommend to you...it might make you feel better!

I plan on talking to our pedi about DS's speech at his 1 year appointment just for peace of mind. But, I'm not going to stress about speech until 15 months. A lot of times you will see and explosion of speech between 15 and 18 months and for some kids it is even later. 

BabyFruit Ticker
  • I don't know if there is any truth to this, but I've read at this point and for a couple more months it's more about what they understand rather then actually say.