Two Under 2

Older child acting out?

Hi ladies - I'm new to this particular board, but not to the Bump.  I've recently joined the 2u2 club.  My second was just born 11 days ago, and my first is just now 15 months.  

I'm hoping some of you can share your experiences with me.  DS1 has always been a really mellow kid...very calm, gentle, and sweet.  Since DS2's arrival, however, he has been acting out a lot.  He's been very aggressive - pulling our hair, pushing kids at daycare, and banging his head HARD against hard surfaces to get our attention.  It's breaking my heart to see him acting like this because it's so NOT him.  We are doing everything in our power to give him a ton of our attention, so it's not like he's being ignored or neglected.

What's confusing to me is that there are also plenty of times where DS1 shows DS2 plenty of affection.  He clearly thinks his little brother is great judging by those actions.  

Did anyone else have an older child that reacted in this way?  If so, how did you handle it?  At 15 months old, it's very difficult to communicate and try to teach him how to act with other people. If you dealt with this, was it a phase that eventually ended?  If so, how long did it last?

Any personal experiences you can share would be incredibly helpful and much appreciated!

Thanks! 

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: Older child acting out?

• No advice but I can relate. My DD is 17 months and DS is 18 days old. She is very rough with the baby. I can't lay him on the floor because she will kick/hit him. She steals his paci etc. I am hoping with time she will adjust and go back to her sweet self. Hugs mama and hang in there.

TTC#1 for 19 months with PCOS and MFI IUI#3 + injectables = BFP!!!!  Beta#1-134(13dpiui) Beta #2-392(15dpiui) 

Lilypie Third Birthday tickers
    TTC#2 - 
    Beta #1 -51@10dpo Beta#2 -1353 @16dpo
    Lilypie Second Birthday tickers
    TTC # 3 June 2014 BFP 12-1-14
    Lilypie Pregnancy tickers