Natural Birth

Due date getting closer...

I'm now 39 weeks pregnant, but getting nervous as the due date approaches. Of course, I'm worried about labor pain and how I'll cope...

I've been listening to hypnobaby and hypnobirthing MP3s for about three months now and have also downloaded some relaxing nature sounds with music. Haven't really had official training with the hypnosis thing, but I'm hoping that all of the yoga I've done over the years will help me relax and meditate with the soundtracks to help reduce pain. Plus, my hubby can rub my back/feet or help me try a variety of positions.

However, my biggest concern is that so far nothing seems to be going on in there. I have an appointment this afternoon, but I haven't even had single Braxton-Hicks contraction or lost my plug. I really don't want to be induced because of the pitocin causing more pain and because it makes it more likely that I'll end up with a C-section. I know I still have time (I think they talk inductionat at 42 weeks), but I really wish something would happen.

Anyone else in the same boat or have any advice?

Shannon

Re: Due date getting closer...

• I wouldn't stress it at all.  At my 39w appt, nothing was going on and my OB predicted that I was going to go late.  That was on Monday.  On Wednesday, I started getting back pain and my baby was here on Friday at 39w 5d.

You haven't even hit 40 weeks yet so just relax and and enjoy these last couple of days!  Everyone's labor progresses differently.  Some walk around 2cm for weeks and other go from 0-10 in 8 hours.

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker