Breastfeeding

Losing supply? Help!

I've been BFing for almost 8 months.  Early on I had some trouble with my supply, it would be low at times, but I was able to get it back up by eating better and drinking more water, along with some Mother's Milk tea (such a blessing).

Just recently I've noticed a drop in my supply, like major.  I tried to pump last night after DD hadn't nursed in 6 hours, and I got about 2/3 of an ounce, from both sides!  Normally I would've gotten at least 2 or 3 ounces.

When she's done nursing I can tell she's hungry and wants more.  Thankfully she is able to eat a lot of foods now, but I really didn't want to have to stop nursing this soon!  I was aiming for 1 year, and we'd go from there.

I've never been good about drinking water, but I really try.  If anything, I've been drinking more water and eating better lately.  I'm just so confused and don't know why this is happening.

I'm going to try drinking lots of the Mother's Milk tea and pray it helps again.

Does anyone have any suggestions or tips? TIA!! 

Married 11/19/11
Georgia Rose - born naturally at home on 9/16/12
Baby #2 on the way! - EDD 10/19/14
Parents to 4 fur babies (3 cats, 1 puppy)
Me (22) DH (21)

image image
O14 April siggy challenge, favorite flower: Dahlia, one of my many favorites

Lilypie Pregnancy tickers

Re: Losing supply? Help!

• I'm going through the same thing.  My supply tanked after being sick for two weeks.  I've been trying everything!  Here's what I do: Mother's Milk Tea, Calcium/Mag/Zinc vitamins 3x a day, oatmeal, water, etc.  I started power pumping last week to see if that would help.

Keep drinking as much water as you can -- good luck!

Isla 2
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • I've never heard of power pumping, I'll have to look into it.

Thanks!  That's something I just realized I forgot - I haven't been taking my vitamins!  Ugh!  I swear the pregnant brain lasts forever. 

Married 11/19/11
    Me (22) DH (21)

image image

• Jerry77Jerry77