Toddlers: 24 Months+
Options

Question About Preschool

So DH and I have been tossing around the idea of only sending DD to one year of preschool.  If we don't send her we will put the money we would have spent on that first year into her college account, probably 5-6 thousand dollars.  Looking ahead, we will probably not have enough money to fully pay our children's college expenses, just help out significantly.  But our guess is they will still have to take out loans to cover some of it.  

I should also add that DD just missed the cut-off for school by 6 days, so she will be the oldest in her class.  Basically 6 when she starts Kindergarten, 7 when she starts First Grade, etc.

How important is two years of preschool do you think?  Is it better put toward college?  Thoughts? 

Re: Question About Preschool

• Options

I am a Kindergarten teacher and I think it depends on what your child does now. Do they go to daycare? Is it a structured environment with circle time/learning time? Preschool is not only about what they learn curriculum-wise but also the social learning that takes place.

I would ask myself these questions:

Does your child interact/play well with other children? Does your child know to how to sit and listen to a story? Do they raise their hands when they have a question? Can they be separated from mom for a period of time? Do they look to other adults as authority figures? Have they learned to walk in a line as a group? Do they know that there are times for play, time for reading, and times for other activities? Do they transition between activities well? Do they know how to count to 10 and recognize those numbers? Can they sing their ABC's, write their name and recognize letters?

If they aren't doing several of those things I would consider a formal preschool to help get them ready for Kindergarten.

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • Options
    imageBonnesetter27: