Babies: 9 - 12 Months

Safety First Convertible Car Seats

Has anyone purchased a Safety First Convertible car seat?  They are on sale here for $98 from $178.  Budget is tight, but I don't want to purchase something that was a bad buy..any pros/cons to share?

Edit:  I am also wondering if it would fit in the back of a small two door car?  I know it has to be rear facing for quite a while.  

Lilypie First Birthday tickers image

Re: Safety First Convertible Car Seats

• We have a Britax Marathon as our main seat, but just bought a Safety 1st seat from Costco to use as a cheap one for my husband's car (it was $90).  We haven't installed it yet, but it looks nice enough.  The only thing I'll say is that just taking it out of the box and checking it out, it doesn't seem to be as installation user friendly as my Britax.  Here's hoping it's not a pain to install.  Looks like a nice enough seat though - good padding, etc...
  • I have no experience with that eat but you should try posting this on the Nurseries and Baby Gear board - there are ladies over there who are basically carseat experts who would be able to tell you more about it and whether it would be likely to last you awhile rear-facing. 

image   image

Lilypie Third Birthday tickers Lilypie Kids Birthday tickers
  • So I wrote a novel... but only because I know I did ALOT of research on the carseat but still was hesitant by not hearing about it from anyone that I knew, and didn't get any answers when I had asked a while ago on TB about it.

We have the Saftey 1st Alpha Omega Elite from Sam's club. It  was only $90, so we were able to afford two, and not have to switch between out one seat between our cars.

Pros: -super affordable -don't need to rethread to adjust height of straps -It's also a  3-in-1, so we don't have to buy any more seats or boosters

Cons: -its a pain to install rear facing at the proper recline -not as easy to adjust belts as other brands -arm rests seem chauncy (minor detail to me)