June 2013 Moms

Getting husband to read his books

My husband is driving me up the wall! He won't read his dad to be books. This is our first child and I feel like he doesn't get what's going on with me. He is a good husband, but certain things are making me crazy. He has made dinner 3 times in the sixteen weeks I've been pregnant, and I'm a nurse who works 12 hour night shifts so if he doesn't work that day and I do I think he could make dinner. His defense is I didn't ask him to do it...kind of hard to do while I'm sleeping. I guess I just feel if you've had to eat dinner every night for over 30 years you'd just assume your pregnant wife might want to eat dinner. Crazy, right? I feel like if he'd read his books he'd realize a little more of where I'm coming from and that I don't need to be doing all I used to do, that he's going to have to do a bit more. I also feel being pregnant Ida wonderful thing but it takes a lot out of a person, and the moment you find out you are pregnant certain things have to be given up- going places that might be smokey, certain foods, no more wine with dinner, being able to feel hunger without nausea (that passed but it was a long 10 weeks).  If I'm doing that the least he could do is read books if for no other reason than I asked him to do that one thing since I'm doing so much. Am I crazy or does anyone else have this problem?

Re: Getting husband to read his books

• My DH never read a book. I got him one and he never touched it.  A lot of guys don't think it's necessary. 
    BabyFruit Ticker image image
         Big M 7/11/11
          Little M 6/16/2013
                    Angel baby 5/17/2014          
  • I think it is really hard for the dads to get involved at this point. Some of us aren't showing, so dad can't feel the baby move.