Cloth Diapering

Starting a stash - prefolds/covers question

I'm new to CD, and I've been doing as much research as I can before starting my stash.  But, now I'm stuck. Smile

I think I'd like to start with prefolds/covers, and based on opinions from here, I am planning on using GMD prefolds, Thirsties Covers XS, and a few GMD workhorse fitteds.

But where do I go from there? I'm planning on 24 newborn prefolds, 3-4 XS covers, 5-6 fitteds.  Do I repeat the same steps in size small?  And then size regular?

My main question: when I start registering, should I register for size small in all those things in addition to the newborn sizes? I'd also like to try pockets and AIO eventually, but I'm not sure what brands I'll like since those tend to be fit-centered based on your baby. So, if I register for size small in those 3 basic items (prefold, covers, fitteds), will this be a waste of money? How many months do size smalls usually last?  Or should I automatically go into testing pockets/AIO?

AlternaTickers - Cool, free Web tickersImage and video hosting by TinyPicimage

Re: Starting a stash - prefolds/covers question

• Until you CD your specific baby, it's hard to know what will fit best and what you'll like best.  If it were me I'd register for (and ultimately make sure I had) the NB stuff you've mentioned and maybe 12 small prefolds plus a couple covers. You really can't go wrong with prefolds and you can always use them as doublers in pockets.