Working Moms

Tell me about your in-home daycare

Hi all--I used to lurk/post more on here a couple of months ago. My family moved in June and I've been a SAHM since mid-June. Prior to that, DD was in a daycare center. 

She's going to be starting at an in-home daycare on September 4. I really like the daycare, and it's a better option for us for several reasons. But I have no experience with in-homes (except for my MIL reminding me that DH went to a home daycare and he turned out fine!) so I need some reassurance :) It's one woman (primarily) in her house. She does have back up if needed who can come in, but it's pretty much just one lady and 6 kids (although when DD starts there will probably be 3 or 4, because most of her current kids are leaving to start school in Sept). I never even looked at home daycares before because I wanted the accountability of a center, so I'm surprised at how much I liked this option. 

So...I guess I just need to hear some positive stories and all the reasons you love your home daycare. TIA!

image. Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker BabyFruit Ticker

Re: Tell me about your in-home daycare

• I love our in home day care for many reasons. Our DCP has the entire day scheduled, and includes many educational and enrichment activities. She ensures that the kids get enough physical activity every day, and balanced meals and snacks. The do reading time, and sing and dance.

It seems much more personal to me than a large center, with so few kids they get to know each other better (DCP and the kids).

Ours just remodeled her bakcyard to include a play area/jungle gym and another area with open grass for them to run and play. If its hot they play in the sprinklers and in the winter they play in the snow.

She really is amazing.