Toddlers: 24 Months+
Options

Need the low down on Potty Training

I'm going to start potty training my daughter in September. We just moved her into a big girl bed and I figured I would give her a month to get her comfortable with that change. So I have a lot of questions on potty training since I have never done this before.

For the potty chair should I get one of the ones that go on the floor or a stool with the seat on the normal toilet? How do you clean out the floor ones? I know you would dump the pee/poo in the toliet but then rinse it out and where? Please recommend your potty chairs as well.

For wiping do you use toliet paper or those disposable/flushable wipes?

For underwear are you doing nomal big girl/boy underwear during the day then pull ups at night? Or pull ups throughout the day/night? I'm not sure what I should do with this part at all.

Please give me any other tips or recommendations on how to go about this process & any book recs/dvd recs that would be good for the both of us.

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: Need the low down on Potty Training

• Options

Summer '11 (2.5) 

We put the portable potty chair downstairs. We used disposable wipes to wipe it out, after using soap/water from the sink (since the top comes out). I like both the Fisher Price Precious Planets one and the Baby Bjorn. I prefer the FP a little more.

We also got a small stool and toilet ring for upstairs. He still uses them. 

During the day, I put him in underwear. The first day was the worst, but by the 2nd day we ventured out. Make sure to pack a ton of underwear and spare outfits. His took his naps in the underwear, etc.

Nighttime, we had him in pull-ups. This worked great for us since we leave our house by 6:30 AM and I didn't want to deal with accidents.

Summer '12 (3.5)

We switched to 100% underwear. I made sure I got a vinyl mattress cover. He has accidents, but it's worth it. 

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker 

• Options