School-Aged Children

What size backpack for Kindergarten

For example, PBK - the small or large?  Small is 15 inches and large is 17 inches.  The small says for 43-47 inches, DS is about 45 inches so that is the size they recommend but I wanted to see if others agree.  Thanks
Jen - Mom to two December 12 babies Nathaniel 12/12/06 and Addison 12/12/08

Re: What size backpack for Kindergarten

• As a teacher I wanted my kinders to have a full size backpack.  They need to be able to fit in their library books so they don't get damaged.  The children almost never put anything heavy in them so the weight isn't an issue.  In the 5 years I taught K I only had 1 child come with a preschool size backpack - the book fitting in was an issue right away.
    imageimage
  • Definitely buy the larger one.  Your child will need room for projects, most likely a folder, worksheets.
  • Loading the player...
  • imageAGmomof3:
    As a teacher I wanted my kinders to have a full size backpack.  They need to be able to fit in their library books so they don't get damaged.  The children almost never put anything heavy in them so the weight isn't an issue.  In the 5 years I taught K I only had 1 child come with a preschool size backpack - the book fitting in was an issue right away.

The small one is actually bigger than a preschool one which is why I was not sure. He wants one that has a clip of some sort to attach a lunchbox.  

• Full size, the only time I use the PreK onw is for snacks/road trips
    Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • imageLittlejen22:

imageAGmomof3:
    As a teacher I wanted my kinders to have a full size backpack.  They need to be able to fit in their library books so they don't get damaged.  The children almost never put anything heavy in them so the weight isn't an issue.  In the 5 years I taught K I only had 1 child come with a preschool size backpack - the book fitting in was an issue right away.