Babies: 0 - 3 Months

How to get her to sleep in the crib

My fiance and I mistakenly let my daughter sleep in the glider for the past couple of weeks because she cried when she was in her crib...now at 3 weeks old I can not get her to sleep longer than 15 minutes in her crib.

What I have been doing so far is having her fall asleep (either in my hands or glider) and than putting her in the crib. Once she is in her crib she wakes up within 15 minutes screaming. I have been trying to let her cry for a bit also so that she can self soothe but after 10 minutes of crying i feel so bad and get her.

Any ideas of what I can do?

Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie First Birthday tickers

Re: How to get her to sleep in the crib

• I'm no expert but from what I have heard and read, 3 weeks is really too early to expect her to want to be anywhere but with you.  My LO has been very much the same and now that he is 8 weeks he is starting to do longer stretches in his crib. I think it isn't until they are about 4 months old that they are able to soothe themselves so until then just do whatever you need to to help her get to sleep and don't worry about 'spoiling' her. 

Good Luck! 

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • Good luck...my baby is almost three months and still has a hard time going down in her crib!  I would just keep trying things like swaddling, paci, rocking, etc. and when you are at your wits end with those, then let her sleep in the glider.  Hopefully eventually she'll get it, but three weeks is still young, she probably just needs help to sleep.
  • Loading the player...
  • OK so i am just a FTM but i did some research on situations like this bc i was curious as well.  This is what i learned and have done and found success..