Photography

Not so newborn photo session (?)

I'm taking photos for a friend this weekend who has a 4 month old daughter (she is getting closer to the five month mark now). This will be my first time working with this age (other than photos I have done for my own daughter) and I'm a little stumped on how to add variety to the photos. We decided to take them outdoors, at her home (with possibly a few mixed in that are indoor shots). I've got a few ideas for the indoor shots incorporating her nursery, but outdoor I'm running low.

I was thinking of bringing various blankets and switching those out, maybe a weaved basket as well to prop her in? She (as far as I know) is not yet sitting so I am guessing I'll need to do mostly propped poses and poses of her lying down/pushing up. I feel like my creative bone is missing right now and I am drawing a blank.

Can anyone suggest other props I could take along, or ways to add a little variety? Thanks so much!

(note: I am not a pro, strictly a hobbyist who has been working on her craft for a few years..I always worry about violating board rules, hope this post is ok!) 

Re: Not so newborn photo session (?)

• I would suggest going through Flickr for some ideas. IMO bringing along tons of props end up distracting from the baby, but I do like the nursery idea. As far as outside, I would focus on the baby and less on what you want to incorporate in it (like baskets and flowers, etc.). Good luck!
  • image kmeek19:
    I would suggest going through Flickr for some ideas. IMO bringing along tons of props end up distracting from the baby, but I do like the nursery idea. As far as outside, I would focus on the baby and less on what you want to incorporate in it (like baskets and flowers, etc.). Good luck!