Attachment Parenting

Transitioning to crib from Moby for naps?

I have been wearing my very colicky infant for 3 months in the Moby.  While she sleeps well at night in the co-sleeper, she naps on me or DH in the Moby for every single daytime nap.  This has worked fine for us so far and I love wearing her around the house or out and about.  We're now past the colic stage, YAY!!

I have 2 reasons to want her to start napping on her own.  One is the upcoming summer- she is getting heavier and the weather is getting warmer, enough said!

The second reason is that I'll be going back to work full time in mid-August.  I've made it my mission to figure out how to get her to nap before I put her in daycare, otherwise I'm afraid I'm setting up my DCP for a screaming baby (and the anxiety alone for me, wondering if she's screaming because she's tired and I'm not wearing her... I just can't bear it).

Any advice on weaning from wearing to non-wearing for a 3-month-old?  None of our attempts so far have worked- letting her fall into a deep sleep and then removing her, trying to swaddle her and rock her to sleep, nothing has worked yet and as soon as she starts crying hard enough, she just ends up back in the Moby... 

PM me for our family/baby blog

Haley Beth ~ March 3rd, 2011

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: Transitioning to crib from Moby for naps?

• I wish I had advice for you. Joseph was just like your daughter, a colicky baby who, even when the colic was over, only napped while being held or Moby-ed with me or my husband. He would, post-colic, sleep fine in his crib at night, but if I tried to put him in it during the day, he would scream and cry like I was lowering him into boiling oil. We couldn't even put him down after he'd fallen asleep without problems. His 2-hour naps would become 20 minutes.