Photography

Let's say you have $800

...to spend on a new DSLR camera and lens.

I'm new to DSLR, but not to photography completely.  I shot for a long time on a K1000 - but put it down for the last few years.  Now that DH and I are gearing up to start a family I'm ready to buy a new camera and start shooting again.  Keep in mind my needs are based around photographing our family/pets/future kiddos.

I'm thinking I'll need a 50mm lens - but that's all I've got. 

I read through the FAQs and it was helpful - I'm just wondering with that budget... what would you purchase and think that I would need?

Thanks in advance! 

Re: Let's say you have $800

• You can get a 50mm 1.8 for about $100 - it would be a great addition to the kit lens, a flattering focal length for portraits (my kit for example is a 14-42mm, and the wide angles are terrible for faces).  Personally, I'd also get a speedlite - wish I had gotten one from the get-go.

GL!

I'll let the Canon and Nikon gals recommend which camera body to start with - I shoot Olympus (unfortunately) and don't plug it!

In my bag: Canon 60D, 50mm 1.4, Tamron 28-75 2.8, 430exii Pregnancy Ticker Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • image EMTX:

You can get a 50mm 1.8 for about $100 - it would be a great addition to the kit lens, a flattering focal length for portraits (my kit for example is a 14-42mm, and the wide angles are terrible for faces).  Personally, I'd also get a speedlite - wish I had gotten one from the get-go.

GL!

I'll let the Canon and Nikon gals recommend which camera body to start with - I shoot Olympus (unfortunately) and don't plug it!

thanks EMTX!  I'm off to research speedlite... 

• I should clarify that I used the term speedlite generically, and it's not - it's Canon's external flash. Nikon's is called the speedlight.