Toddlers: 12 - 24 Months

What is preschool?

I know I can google but help me out if you can.

What is preschool? Do kids have to go? What ages is it for generally?

Do you plan on sending your lo? Will it be Montessori style?

* I was lurking on the 24+ board and someone mentioned how thier lo will be going to preschool by age 3. It freaked me out!! Do I have to send him to 'school' that young?? Im hoping to be a SAHM again later this year and I want him home with me. Plus I know nothing about registering a kid for school and which is best... ahhh not ready lol.

Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml

Re: What is preschool?

• Preschool is not mandatory. It's just a parental choice.
    Logan - 11/09, Lander 08/11, Baby #3 ~It's a girl!!~ EDD: 04/10/14

• Being a teacher, I can answer this. Preschool is typically for four year olds. However, if a three year old has a late birthday (say, Sept 1st), they can enroll for that year since they'll be turning four early in the school year. I don't know of any state that requires it, and it purely is parental choice. 

Private schools have a WIDE variety of preschool offerings, while many public school systems either offer it on a first-come, first-served basis, or a low-income basis (like my school system does). 

My daughter will be going to preschool, but by that time, it'll really just be an extension of daycare-- they teach them so much already in the class she's in now!  

Norah is here! Born on July 16th, 2009 7lbs 0oz, 19in and PERFECT! My Blog--Baby Steps, Foot Steps, Leaps, Bounds, Milestones
    Lilypie Fourth Birthday tickers
    Lilypie Pregnancy tickers
  • Loading the player...