Minnesota Babies
Options

Craniocap (cost and satisfaction)

Hi All.

Just had our first visit at Gillette and need to determine if we want our son to be fitted for a craniocap. Our insurance will not cover it, so we are trying to figure out the cost and if it is worth it (waiting for pt rep at clinic to call back). He does have a flat head...but not the worst case.

Thanks for any info or advice!

Re: Craniocap (cost and satisfaction)

• Options
    I have only heard of improvements with the craniocap.. although I have no personal experience. GL!
    Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • Options
    Our daughter was borderline for needing one, but since we were able to get her into PT for her tortocollis so early (she was 2 weeks old) we were able to correct her plagiocephaly with PT only.
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • Loading the player...
  • Options
    My friend's daughter wore one and it made a big improvement. They were able to see small changes almost right away. Good luck. I'm sure it's a hard decision.

Photo taken at 16 months old
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • Options

Sorry I don't have any advice but we are in the same situation. My daughter had some torticolis and we did the PT but she still does have a mild case of her ears being mis-aligned ( i forgot the word now). We have a consultation on Monday to see if she is even appropriate for one.

I am waiting to hear back from our insurance as well but I have only heard good things about the results. My concern is it worth putting Breah through wearing one for what seems to be a mild problem?

Good Luck and I would be interested in what you decide and why!

Jill

• Options

We decided to wait and see. Had our first appointment with a new pedi and she was honest about her opintion (which was so refreshing!). She said to wait until 6 months and see if it is any worse (she thinks it will get better as he more able to sit and stand).