Connecticut Babies
Options

MidState Medical Center in Meriden?

Does anyone have anything to say about giving birth at MidState?  It's very close to my house and I assumed I would be giving birth there... however my current OB/GYN would send me to Hartford Hospital, but I don't really want to go there because it's too far and I think it's probably too big.  I'm worried I wouldn't get very much attention or personalized care.  If I decide on MidState, then I'd ALSO have to find a new OB...

Any thoughts? 

Re: MidState Medical Center in Meriden?

• Options
    I am taking my child birthing class there and love it.  My dad has had lots of cancer treatments at midstate and we are thrilled with it.  My OB is at Yale but I'm already convinced next pregnancy I'm switching to midstate.  Good luck!
    Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • Options
    I delivered at MidState and have nothing but wonderful things to say!  I am a nurse myself and very critical of hospital care and this is top notch. Rooms are private with everything happening in one room from admission, delivery (unless c-section of course) to postpartum.  All of the staff from the physicians to the housekeepers are friendly and attentive.  You can tell everyone there enjoys what they do.  I go to Dr.Fanning in the Helm and Helm practice, who I think is great, however there is always a very long wait in the office to see him for apts.  Over 2 hours at times, which I know is terrible and frusterating especially when you get to weekly apts.  MidState is great for a standard risk pregnancy, however there is no NICU.  Of course they would transport to an outside NICU if needed.  Good luck! Let me know if you have any questions.
  • Loading the player...
  • Options

imageMGB0104:
     MidState is great for a standard risk pregnancy, however there is no NICU.  Of course they would transport to an outside NICU if needed.  Good luck! Let me know if you have any questions.