D.C. Area Babies

DCP Questions

I'm a total newbie at this -- my mother was a SAHM, and my sister in the midwest is a SAHM, and I don't have any close friends in the area that have kids at this point, so I kind of feel like I am flying blind on the DCP search.  And I am probably way behind schedule in starting my search.

1. Is it better to put LO with a DCP that is closer to home or closer to work?  I live in Wheaton and work near Navy Yard (DH works near Union Station).

2.  How many DCP did you interview/visit?  How long does a visit last?  What key things should I look for and ask/verify?  How many waiting lists were you on? 

3.  For an infant, is it important to find a DCP that is NAEYC certified, or that uses a structured curriculum?

4.  In your experience, once you were on a waiting list, was your LO accepted/enrolled when you were ready to go back to work, or did you have to wait longer?

5.  What is a good caregiver to child ratio?  A lot of the DCPs listed on the MD Childcare search say that the home care centers accept 8 children at a time, and I assume it is one caregiver for 8 children.

6.  If you have a DCP located in your office, would you put your LO there even if it costs more than you had budgeted?

7.  Any other words of wisdom on selecting a DCP for a new mom-to-be?

Thanks so much.

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: DCP Questions

• I'm relatively new at this, but I'll give you my perspective from my search so far:

1. We're going with near work. Given how much the traffic to and from the city can vary every day I'm concerned about being late for pick-up, plus we don't normally leave the city in time to make the 6 pm pick up most local to our house places have.

2.) So far I've been to 4. I've got one more scheduled and will probably put my name on a couple more lists since out of 4 I only liked 2 and of those, only one is in my price range for care, so I've only found one to put my name on.