Infertility
Options

New Here (Introductions!!)

Hi All! I'm new to this message board (obviously). My DH and I have been married for 11 year next month. I'm 29, he's 33....And I can feel all of you doing the math on that one! Yes, we were young and in love, and despite what everyone suspected...not pregnant! We have been TTC on for about 6 years now. About 5 years ago we learned my DH was functionally sterile. He has been hesitant up until recently to try anything beyond OTC supplements to do anything about it. Despite having no religious objections to it, he's been firmly against IUI or IVF. I think it's a money thing, he is afraid of putting us into debt and it not working.

But last October I found a male infertility clinical trial for a study medication in our area through the local University. We were accepted and he started the medication in December. If we aren't pregnant by March, the study will pay for 3 rounds of IUI! So far we've only told our 2 closest friends about it, who are husband and wife, and childfree by choice. We haven't figured out how to discuss it with our families yet. I'm worried it is only going to make them even more nosy, and they are going to be asking about it all the time. Every time we see them they ask when we are going to have kids, which hurts, because they know we've been trying. And it seems like everyone else we know is pregnant or just had their first baby, or is pregnant with baby # 2 or 3 or 4! despite being together for waaaaayyy less time than my DH and I. We were the first out of our group of friends to get married, and we'll be the last to have kids... if we can. I know that I haven't been through the rigger of all the possible fertility treatments (yet), but 6 years of wanting a baby and not having one, while watching everyone else start and finish having their families, has been draining on me. Has anyone else dealt with a reluctant partner/family that can't take a hint?

Re: New Here (Introductions!!)

• Options