Infertility
Options

Intro after 1st IVF failure and a longer road ahead than expected

liljoy-2liljoy-2 member
edited December 2016 in Infertility
I am so glad I have found this board since I can't talk to my family or close friends about this (I feel so inadequate and dislike self-pity), and my husband is starting taking this whole situation hard. On top of that, although we have been together for a long time and care about each other a lot, I've been unhappy for quite some time.  

Anyhow, my background is that I had endometriomas removed from one ovary in March (apparently leaving me with only a few follicles) after two months of excruciating pain. We've been TTC since then, with a ticking bomb above my head since the endometriosis could return at any time leading to more surgery if I don't get pregnant.

I'm 36 and DH is 40 with low total count. My blood tests are normal. I've failed a natural IUI and then discovered I had uterine polyps, as if the endometriosis, fibroids and MF were not enough. I'm worried sick about this (will take them out soon). 

I also failed my first IVF (it was a micro-IVF protocol with only Clomid and Ovidrel trigger). The doctor missed my mature egg and collected only a M1 egg that fertilized but didn't develop past day 2.. I am taking this way harder than I expected and have felt physically sick and depressed for the last few days. I think I reached the point where I begin to lose some hope. 

December will be the holiday season and the most I can hope for is an IUI if it's not around Christmas when they're closed (and according to the calendar, that's exactly when I will probably ovulate). So now I have to wait until January to try a mini-IVF with some injections too...it will be a long road since my goal is to do freeze-all cycles to have about 4 embryos for PGS... I will probably change my mind about PGS since all this seems harder than expected.