Blended Families
Options

How do I say no to SS giving me all his old baby items

My pregnancy has been relatively easy so far, I've had a few issues that I've been able to turn to family and friends about, but I'm now facing a problem I'm not too sure how to deal with. My partner and I have been in a relationship for 10yrs and he has a 12yo son from another relationship, we'll call him my stepson. We don't see my SS often as he lives with his mother but he had always said he wanted a brother or sister so when we told him I was expecting a boy he was happy. I've just entered my third trimester and I've made a start on the nursery, I've been collecting pieces for the past 6 months and to be honest it's what has gotten me through, I've not enjoyed the morning sickness or gaining weight or all the other wonderful things that come with being pregnant. SS told me recently that he is cleaning his room at home and has sent me photos of stuffed toys he wants to give to me for the baby. I brushed it off but he came around with a big bag of hand me down teddies and told me he also had heaps of his old clothes if I wanted them. I got a little annoyed by this because all I could think of was that they would have been the clothes he wore as a baby when my partner was still with his ex, I definitely don't want those! Anyway one of the teddies he brought me was the size of SS, it's a massive dog and it takes up half of the nursery, I'm not even kidding! I told my partner it will not fit in the room and he said it will just have to. It will not go with anything I have bought for the room and I don't know why a baby would need such a huge stuffed animal anyway. I know SS's heart is in the right place but what do I do, how do I tell him I don't want hand me downs for my baby?

Re: How do I say no to SS giving me all his old baby items

• Options