Babies: 0 - 3 Months

Normal development 3 months

We read board books several times a day and my LO has started turning the pages when I finish a page. 

Is it POSSIBLE he knows when the page is finished? We read the same few books daily. This just seems near impossible but we even took a video we were so surprised. I think turning the page is a pretty cool thing. 

Also ive been signing a few words for the last month or so... Milk, song, and story. I figured they were much more concrete words than up or more. Anyway I'm 99.9% convinced he signs milk now. It's the easiest of the 3 but it's just clenching your first like milking a cow so I'm not totally sure. But it seems like he does it ... Especially when his bottle is late. He will clinch one hand and the other is open. 

I'm honestly not trying to mommy brag. I think this seems unusual but I don't want to ask anyone IRL because I think they will think I'm being a crazy tiger mom. 

Im a former teacher (at a super hippie non competitive not super academic type of school) and always found it annoying when parents just thought their kid was so smart and precocious. I don't want to be that mom. 

Re: Normal development 3 months

• Ceridwen77Ceridwen77 member
    edited February 2016
    I don't think it's possible. I've researched signing and its recommended to begin signing around 4mo and you shouldn't expect your LO to sign back until 6mo. They just won't have the motor control until then. Clenching a fist (milk sign) is common in babies but you do want to make sure that clenching occurs less and their hands are more open at this age, as that's a 3 month development milestone. 

As as far as knowing when the page in a book is done? Baby's brain just isn't developed to understand that type of cause and effect. I think you're seeing coincidental circumstances and reading a bit into them.