Toddlers: 12 - 24 Months

21 month old flaps arms when excited??

Hi all- I am new to this discussion board but was looking for some advice. My toddler boy is 21 months old.  I have noticed over the past few months, when he is really excited about something, he jumps up and down and flaps his arms. For example, if I'm about to give him his favorite snack, if we are about to go in the car, if he sees a TV show or hears a song that he likes, etc.  He never does it unless he is really happy about something.  He is a late talker too. He knows a handful of words/animal sounds and doesn't say them very often. He babbles a lot and is great at pointing, bringing objects/toys. He plays with other kids and seems very interactive, makes eye contact etc. When I tell him we are about to do something (ie, take a bath, take a nap) he understands.  He can follow complex commands (ie, gets something out of the appropriate drawer, etc).  I am worried b/c I have read that arm flapping can be a sign of autism.  Does anyone else have a toddler that does this? Should I be concerned about this combined with the slow speech?

Re: 21 month old flaps arms when excited??

• You should be asking the Pedi about the delayed speech. He should be saying quite a few words by 21 months. At least 10 words. I'd also ask about the arm flailing because your Pedi would be the very best person to evaluate and give an opinion.
  • The arm flapping that is a sign of autism is called stimming. It is not the same as getting excited and flapping your arms. It is more of a self soothing thing. When some people with autism get overstimulated, they flap their hands, rock back and forth, or some other similar repetitive motion. They may also flap their hands in front of their own face and watch the movements over and over.
    It doesn't sound to me like your son is stimming. My daughter flaps her arms sometimes when she's super excited, especially while running to what she is excited about.