May 2016 Moms

Any other scientist moms out there? Has your workload changed?

cmboyd8688cmboyd8688 member
edited September 2015 in May 2016 Moms
Just wondering if there are any other moms on here who may work in a lab or around hazardous materials?

I am a chemist and work in a lab. I am around solvents and finished pharmaceuticals.

Has your boss altered your workload at all since finding out the news? My boss has me working mainly on products that use water based diluents but some of the products we test have reproductive hazards.

Do you think it's within my rights or out of line to ask for desk work for the term of my pregnancy?

Thanks for any input! I just want to keep my baby safe and make sure my boss knows I am not trying to be lazy!

Re: Any other scientist moms out there? Has your workload changed?

• I am a biologist. Our lab is BSL-2 but only because we can work with BSL-2 materials, not because we do on a regular basis. The worst thing I deal with is E. coli and only in a really fragile state or to express a plasmid on a plate. That being said, I can continue doing my work with normal precautions.

Have you talked to your boss about your concerns? If there is a risk with you being pregnant I think it is within your rights to mention those concerns to your boss and ask what your options are.
  • tgortneytgortney member
    edited September 2015
    Ooh this topic is so me!