Babies on the Brain

Health care workers and pregnancy

Question for all you health care workers...
My husband and I are going to start TTC spring/summer. I work in health care and have been considering a job change. I will stay working as a nurse , just something different. The position I want is cardiac catheterization. Anyone in health care knows that means exposure to radiation. I obviously have concerns over this and being pregnant, not to mention being young and in my childbearing years. Do any of you work in areas like this and what does your facility do to protect you and your baby?

Re: Health care workers and pregnancy

• I don't work on a unit that involves radiation, so I don't really have an answer for you. But I just wanted to say hi to a fellow nurse! I recently transferred from med-surg to a busy L&D unit, and I worry about the stress of the job hurting my chances of getting pregnant or causing PTL.  :-S  What about cath lab appeals to you? Are there other units that are similar in practice (like maybe OR?) but without radiation exposure? Best of luck!
    Me: 23 | DH: 25
    Married: June 2014 
    TTC #1

• Hello fellow nurse! I wish something else appealed to me. It would make things easier. Right now I work on an ICU step down unit. Working nights just won't work for us with a baby. I might look into PACU as well. You get how it goes working bedside. If the radiation doesn't hurt me out my baby the stress of being a bedside nurse will. :-)
  • Loading the player...
  • Hello fellow nurses!
    We recently moved back to San Diego - and I got two job offers yesterday. One for day shift Cardiac PCU, and another for night shift Surgical ICU. The ICU is my goal as a nurse, but we are TTC within this next year - and I feel like the stress and mood swings I experienced while on night shift will negatively impact my ability to conceive and have a smooth pregnancy... I'm sure I'm overthinking it - but it was painful turning down that ICU offer.