Baby Names
Options

Does this name fall into the same category as other long "e" you-neek names?

Hello! So I'm relatively new to the bump and I've been lurking for a month or so now (mostly the baby name threads) and leaving a few comments here or there. DH and I are only in our second month TTC, but we've had a few baby names picked out for quite a while. 

Our top baby girl name is Hadley, and since I've been looking around on here I've noticed pretty much everyone agrees that the trendy names ending in a long "e" sound are just bad.
I've also started to consider more how the name will age with a possible future daughter. Is Hadley a solid choice? Is it in the same category as Brynlee and Tinley and "you-neek" names like that? I don't want my daughter to get side-eyed her whole life!

Help!!

Re: Does this name fall into the same category as other long "e" you-neek names?

• Options
    I think it is a trendy name, surname trend and -ey end trend. I think it is better than Brynlee or Tinley, but I am not a fan. If you like the -ey ending, maybe something more classic like Emily or Julie?
  • Options
    The -ey ending isn't anything special to me, it was just the first name that wasn't super popular that we both loved. I've thrown other names at him that I like (Georgia, Sloane, Vera, Lucille, Sage) but he turns them all down. I'll just have to keep searching! It's not like I'm crunched for time or anything lol. 

Thank you for the input!!
  • Loading the player...
  • Options
    MamaWren919MamaWren919 member
    edited August 2015
    I like Hadley. I don't consider it a Brynlee, Tinley kind of name. My only concern with Hadley is that it will blend in with the Hayley, Baylee, Kylie, Kinley, Tinleys. All of those names begin to sound alike and (at least as a teacher) become forgettable.
  • Options
    I have a Hadley, so I like it of course. I have to say, I didn't realize quite how trendy/rapidly rising it is when we picked it, but oh well.