Working Moms
Options

suggestions? What do y'all do?

I'd like to get a few opinions from you moms out there that might have some good advice. I'm currently 11 weeks pregnant (woo!). And I work for myself so I have a lot of spare time. I've decided that I want to go ahead and go back to school to start on my masters. But there are soooo many options these days. I currently hold a BS in athletic training. I originally started my masters in an accelerated nurse practioner program, however, after a couple of semesters I realized my heart was not in it. I have a much higher respect for you nurses out there. Some just aren't meant to be. So you mamas out there who have or are getting your masters, give me some advice. What did you choose and why? Do you love your job?

Re: suggestions? What do y'all do?

• Options
    I guess it depends on what you want to do - I came from a really specialized technical background, so I got an MBA to make it a little easier for me to transition to management.  It's a good all over education if you want to do more of the business-y stuff, not so good if you're looking to add/expand into a specialty.
    DD born 6/14/13 MC Nov 2014 BFP on Mother's Day EDD 1/6/16
  • Options
    Alli0322Alli0322 member
    edited July 2015

I'm a nurse with a BSN and I'm going to be going back for my master's as well. I'm going to be getting a Master's in Nursing Education with a certificate in Health Informatics. I got out of floor nursing and now I teach courses on how to use to computerized charting system that the hospitals in my area use - EPIC. I decided to get a MSN in Education so I can possible teach at the college level and have a clinical group, but I wanted that certificate in Health Informatics as to not close any of those doors since computers really are the future of health care.