Trying to Get Pregnant

About to try for the first time ever, and 38th birthday next week.

Hey y'all!

I just got back from a promising visit to the fertility doc, and I thought I'd introduce myself.  I'm so excited/nervous about this journey!

I'm about to turn 38.  I've never tried to get pregnant before, and never even been a situation where sperm and egg might possibly meet, except I guess for that one condom mishap in high school (best first day of my period ever!).  I'm bi, but mostly gay, and only ever had relationships with guys who had been snipped.  When I turned 35, I thought I would give up on my dream of conceiving a child, since I wasn't in the sort of relationship that could support starting a family.  Then I met my wife, fell madly in love, got married, settled down, and realized that I hadn't *quite* gone past the expiration date on my eggs, so here I am!

Between my age and the fact that at-home artificial insemination is illegal where I live, I went to a fertility doctor.  My blood work is not awesome-- it indicates low ovarian reserve, so I've taken letrozole and was given a HCG trigger shot to use tomorrow night.  But my follicles look good (two big fat ones today, and good lining), so I'm cautiously optimistic!

I'm trying to find the right path, letting myself feel positive and hopeful and excited, while still being realistic about the potential challenges.  I'm trying to be healthy without driving myself crazy.  For those of you who have been walking this path for a while, I hope you take the time to recognize how strong you are!!!  There is so much information overload on the internet, so many ways we can criticize ourselves for our past choices, the current state of our health, whether we're eating the right things, avoiding the wrong things, etc. etc.  This is not an easy thing.

Me- 39 (turning 40 in April), TTC for the first time ever (since Jan 2015), low ovarian reserve