Working Moms
Options

Want to Start Working Again - Need Advice

Hi moms!

I have been a stay at home mom for a few years now but I'm looking to eventually go back to work again.

The problem is, with my resume gap and lack of recent references, I have no idea how to. And I would love some advice.

A little about me:

I am 32 years old. I have a Bachelors degree and I've taken additional courses at different universities.

I have 6 years of experience working in different business environments mostly as an administrative or executive assistant.

I am open to working from home at first but my long term goal is to be back working in an office.

My main dilemma is the long gap on my resume, about 4 years. 

And I do not have any recent references and none that I feel comfortable asking for this favor.

I'm want to "start over" but not sure how to.

I need to build my resume/references back up again but don't know where to start.

Should I look for a job where no experience is required as to make it easier to get a foot back in? Though they may prefer recent college grads and references will still be needed.

Should I volunteer somehow? If so, where?

How do I get by the resume gap and lack of references? What are my options?

I would be incredibly grateful for any advice you can give me.

Thanks so much again!

Re: Want to Start Working Again - Need Advice

• Options
    I think most employers understand a gap in work due to staying at home with children. They will want references, however. Depending on the job, personal references may be okay. I have used references from volunteer experience in the past. You could volunteer with American Cancer Society, a local food bank, the Children's Home Society or some other foster care / adoption organization.... anything really. The main goal is to get your foot in the door for an interview. If they see that you click well with their organization they will overlook the other stuff. My advice - start applying! Good luck!