Parenting after a Loss

SAHM/WAHM?

I am looking for some advice on how stay at home moms and/or work at home moms have been able to make the choice to be home with their kiddos. It's a choice I would really like to make after the end of this school year but it terrifies me because currently I am making most of the money for our family while my husband finishes school. I am a teacher and could conceivably look into part time teaching to help supplement income but would ideally like to have something I can do at home as well that is consistent. I hate how much I have to leave DD at daycare and how much I feel like someone else is raising her. I know we'll have to tighten up but are there any tips or ideas you can share? TIA!
Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: SAHM/WAHM?

• I SAH. When DH and I first started talking about a family, we decided that's what we wanted to do. We both worked hard and saved for 3 years before I got pregnant.

Even with that, we still make sacrifices. DH is currently finishing his master's degree which takes a decent amount of money, but we know it will pay off. We have older vehicles, I shop sales and consignment, and we try not to eat out a lot. We also have very basic cable and internet services.

I know it's not for everyone. There are times where I wish we could splurge on stuff, but at the end of the day, that's all material stuff.
  • I work at home and it's only been our 2nd week in daycare but what works for us is she goes 3 days a week and my mom is here one day and DH is here another. There's been some transition with DHs work so we might add another day at daycare, but o can say when I have to do both its really hard as I'm scared to get on a phone call as she might start crying or need me. I think finding the right daycare that makes you feel as its a great learning experience rather than someone else raising your baby is key to feeling ok about it. Hope that helps.

Off BC, NTNP since June 2011