September 2012 Moms

Guys, I need sleep help.

I'd post this on my BMB, but we are all in the throes of it, and Hannah was a good sleeper, so I have no experience with this.

Ben STTN at 3 months for 12 hours straight, it lasted 3 weeks and he's done it a handful of times since.

He wakes at least 1-2x per night, and the wakings are getting earlier and earlier.

I tried the moms on call approach of pushing back feedings by checking/soothing every 5 minutes, and feeding him if he's still fussing after the third check. No luck.

We went on vacation, and for 3 nights he slept 7pm-5am, but he stopped as soon as we got back.

Out of desperation last night I attempted CIO with checks at 1-3-5 and he was just infuriated.

Once he's upset, he will not go down without a bottle.

I'm fucking tired. Help.

Re: Guys, I need sleep help.

• Man, I'm sorry you're going through this. Briar was/is the same way-- I think they aren't too far apart in age? (7mo) Shes still hit or miss-- I would say half the week she sttn and the other half she wakes once. The big turning point for us was giving her a bit of oatmeal before bed. I make like 1/6 cup and add in some mashed bananas or whatever fruit we have on hand. We've added another meal during the day, and I think her nights tend to be better on days that she eats more. Have you started solids of any kind yet? I hope you find a solution soon! I feel for you :(
  • We started him on solids a few weeks ago, and he's had rice cereal in his bottles (per his pedi) since about 3 months. He has horrible reflux and would spit up half his feedings.

He's a big boy, so I know he doesn't necessarily need a MOTN feeding, but a bottle is the only thing that will soothe him.

I didn't sleep for most of my pregnancy, so it's basically been a year since I've consistently slept well.

Kill me now.

• Loading the player...