3rd Trimester
Options

Early FMLA maternity leave?

I'm going to start off by apologizing in advance for how long this is going to be. If you can make it through to the end and give advice, it'll be much appreciated!

I'm currently 31 weeks pregnant with my first baby. I work as an RN in a large hospital on a very busy unit, 3 nights a week. My husband works out of town Monday-Friday, so he's gone during the week and I'm home alone. I've always had issues with anxiety, but lately I have severe panic attacks before I go in to work. My heart rate gets up to 150-170, I feel like I'm going to pass out, I just cry and want nothing more than to just lay in bed and not move. I can't take my medication for the anxiety/depression because of the pregnancy. I'm embarrassed to tell my OB about this, even though I know I shouldn't be. I planned to today during my visit but he seemed in a hurry and I just couldn't make myself say it.

My husband and I decided that I wouldn't return to work after taking FMLA leave for the baby unless it can be an as needed position, which would mean I wouldn't have a set schedule and would only be obligated to work 1 night a month. I can't swap to the as needed position until after baby is born for insurance purposes, and I'm unable to swap to days or reduce my hours due to the amount of nurses on day shift vs night shift while Im working until leave.

Here's where my question or wanting "advice" comes in. I'm seriously considering taking an early leave. As early as they'll let me. I'm not concerned about time after the baby is born because I'll either swap positions, or not return to work. I'm thinking of asking my OB to approve early leave (I'll be 33 weeks my next appt).