January 2015 Moms

What would you do?

I'm in a little situation. I'm a teacher. I know there are several on here and also several other working moms. I'm due Jan. 9th and I have been measuring small, so assuming I will not be induced early. I know that there's a possibility baby will come on her own anytime, but if she doesn't do I go back to work? School starts again on the 5th so I would be going back for just a few days. However as you know, everyday I'm sitting at home I lose later. Would you go back until baby's born or wait it out at home?
Lilypie Pregnancy tickers

Re: What would you do?

• I think it would depend on what environment you're in. Do you teach little kids where you're up and down or is it high school where you're maybe not as physical.
    If it's something you think you can handle I would try to work as long as you can. If you're chasing kindergarten kids or you know super super active you might not have the stamina to do so.
    Good luck that's a hard decision
  • Most of the time I'm all for working up until labor, but in the case of teachers and due dates being so close to classes starting back up, I would say just stay home.
    BabyFruit Ticker
  • Loading the player...
  • I think it depends on a few factors. I teach high school, am due 10 days after you and am not going back after the holidays. My main reason is I want them to hire a permanent replacement so my students will have some continuity leading up to exams...and if I stay until my due date it could be a different supply teacher every day. But I'm also Canadian and get a year off, so I'm not worried about "wasting" days before LO arrives. It's a tough decision...do whatever feels right to you and is in the best interest of your students.
  • MaebbMaebb member
    edited November 2014