Working Moms

Parent frustration vent

My dad put his back out while putting his socks on the other day. He never visits a chiropractor, does stretching, go for massages, etc. He is always lifting/doing activities that he should be more careful about doing (he's 55), especially given that he does not take care of his back.

My mom has asthma, but never ever  takes her puffers. She only takes them when she's having an asthma attack, this despite the fact that I have explained to her the reasons why it's important to take it as prescribed (I'm a pharmacist). She also has a prescription for Synthroid, but after a month taking it when her levels came back normal (because of the medication), she decided she was "cured" (because of the normal levels) and doesn't take it anymore. Hence, she is always cold and tired.

So frustrating. I get annoyed at having to take care of parents whose problems could be avoided with a little preventative medicine/self/care. I realize I need to get over this because they're not going to change. Vent over.

Re: Parent frustration vent

• You have pretty much described my IL's.  Don't take care of themselves, never go to the doctor, no exercise whatsoever, and my MIL is a nurse. 

• Yeah, my mom called me one evening at 7 pm to tell me that she had woken up with one side of her face paralyzed. She hadn't gone to see her doctor. And I am a doctor, but she waited all day before asking me what to do!

Thank goodness it was Bell's palsy, not a stroke. Still, she got a very severe case that might have been lessened if she had been started on steroids sooner.
    DS born 8/8/09 and DD born 6/12/12.
  • Loading the player...
  • My mom has had a slipped disc for 6 weeks (I took her for an MRI on Saturday).  Now it looks like what she is getting for Christmas is surgery.  Her appointment isn't until a couple weeks before Christmas and my bet is that week off I struggled for?  I will be staying with my mom and will not even see my kids.....Awesome.