May 2015 Moms
Options

Medical group canceled my drs contract

ck4567ck4567 member
edited October 2014 in May 2015 Moms
I hope I can just VENT and let off some steam and get some opinions to help me gain some perspective. I know I need to just calm down because this anger is bad for the baby, and I am blessed to have this baby so really this isn't the end of the world, but it still really makes my blood boil.

So I found out at 4pm today that my dr is no longer covered by my insurance because my medical group cancelled him. I have an appointment with him Monday morning. They didn't give me any warning at all. Just said effective immediately. So now I get to pay cash for my appointment because I am not going to miss it due to this. I can fight the insurance on this because what they are doing is likely illegal. I have a law degree and I found a statute on my side. Or I can just find a new doctor. Sadly finding a new doctor is prob the best option because insurance company red tape is not something I want to be dealing with while pregnant or with a new born. Knowing my luck I'd fight for my doctor and then he wouldn't even be on call when I gave birth!

I should also note this medical group has pulled shady stuff like this in the past. I had to fight with them for 2 months to let me see a doctor I knew was in my network because they they insisted he was out of network despite much evidence to the contrary. I had to put a needed mri on hold for 2 months while they just kept giving incorrect information. During that time I had them email me a list of covered Obs in case I fell pregnant. Now they cancel the doctor I picked from that list. Nice.

I'm just so mad. I did not want to deal with this, and I thought it was all good since I found a dr. in my network. Anyone else have to change drs due to insurance issues out of your control? How did you stay calm?

Edit- at least I figured out paragraphs on the ipad. Just added the paragraph symbol to make paragraphs.