Cloth Diapering
Options

Lurker w/a question

I've been lurking for a couple weeks and I have a question.  Obviously I know I'm speaking to a biased group, but I'd like honest opinions.

I'm due in May and we will be putting the baby in daycare starting in mid August.  I have checked with several daycares (previously I was a foster parent) and I haven't found any centers in our area willing to cloth diaper.  Apparently the restrictions sent down from the state are particularly hard core regarding this.  Baby will be in daycare for about 8 hours a day, so 40 hours a week.

IYHO  do you think it's worth it to cloth diaper just a home?  I'm a teacher, so I'm home all summer and during breaks, but otherwise it will just be evenings and weekends.   I'm wondering if I'll actually be spending double money with all the disposables we'll be buying for daycare anyway.

Thanks!
Jenna
Mama to a crazy toddler (J-5/28/15)
EDD 5-3-18

Re: Lurker w/a question

• Options
    There are people on this board who CD part time because of this exact issue.  I would say it's definitely worth it.  There's still 128 diapered hours left in the week after the 40 spent at daycare.  Don't forget that CDs have a resale value once you're done with them, so you make a lot of your investment back.
  • Loading the player...
  • Options
    https://diaperwrecker.com/2013/09/cloth-diapers-in-daycare/

Check this link. Only a few states restrict cloth diapering.
  • Options
    Yep, all of the above. I don't have to deal with daycare but I get the gist that a lot of places are just misinformed. Dealing with AIOs or pre-stuffed pockets is no different than dealing with disposables, and a wish wet bag is no different than trashcan.
                          PitaPata Dog tickers

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • Options
    I would just because I find disposables so unpleasant.
    Mama to a little girl born July 2011 and a little boy born April 2014! Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker