Babies on the Brain
Options

Uninsured and Out of Luck

My husband and I are in the first month of trying to conceive after stopping my birth control and I'm already nearly fed up with the medical system. Before I stopped my birth control I called my GP's office, where I have been a patient for the last 12 years, and tried to make an appointment for a pre-pregnancy check up. You know, make sure everything was a green light, not that I'm anticipating there being any issues. Right off the bat there were problems because the nurse I spoke with acted like I was a lunatic. She said there was no reason to see a doctor until I was already pregnant and no, my doctor would not prescribe me a prenatal to get started on. (I work as a pharmacy technician, I know there is a difference in ingredients vital to the first month of pregnancy that isn't in OTC prenates.)

So after a fight with my GP's office she tells me that my doctor doesn't "deal with pregnancy" anyway and I'd have to find another doctor to follow up with once I'm pregnant. This began my search. I am uninsured. We are more than willing and able to pay for any pregnancy related expenses and we have money in savings that we've been stashing away for this very reason. I have contacted all of the local OB's I can find and NOT ONE of them will accept an uninsured patient on a payment plan or cash upfront. I'm getting really frustrated with this.

Does anyone have any insight into this issue for me? Do I have to have an OB? I was just so floored when my family doctor who I've seen forever refused me for something that I feel is so important. Ugh.

-vent-

Re: Uninsured and Out of Luck

• Options
    normandyn7normandyn7 member
    edited October 2014