April 2015 Moms

No heartbeat at 6 weeks 3 days...

i am in early pregnancy went for a scan on tuesday 9th september 2014 they said i was measuring 6 weeks 3 days which is about right the embryo has grown since my last scan at 4 weeks 4 days Although when i went for the scan at 6 weeks 3 days they could not see a heartbeat and said they should expect to see it by now what is the chance my baby is going to be okay

Re: No heartbeat at 6 weeks 3 days...

• Wow how rude ! I hope everything works out for you !
  • Loading the player...
  • Thank you x
  • Hope everything works out. I think all pp meant was that, since you're asking for advice, it's easier for us to give advice/well-wishes when we can fully understand the question/issue. Hopefully the doc will have some answers. I'm not an expert (FTM), but from what i've gathered lurking on the board, 6 weeks seems too early to find a heartbeat.
    Together since 5.16.05 (16 & 19yo)
    Married since 3.6.10 (21 & 24yo)
    Baby Olivia coming 4.14.15 <3 (26 & 29yo)

January Siggy Challenge: Fitness Fails

• Thank you so much x
  • I would wait a couple if weeks and go for another US, I had a scan at 6 weeks, they could not detected a heartbeat. They did say it is boarder line and could be a day or so early. I went back at 8 weeks, and there was our little bean, great heartbeat and growing righ on track. It was worrying, and the wait was endless, I had suffered a miss misscarriage before.
    Hope all goes well, keep us posted.
  • As a lot of PP's have said, 6 weeks can be a bit early. This is why a lot of doctors wait before attempting to see it (although if you're high risk I can understand why they're taking a look earlier). At my 9 week ultrasound they could see the heartbeat but refused to let me hear it saying "it might be too early we prefer to wait till 12 weeks".